AZERBAIJAN: New Online Visa System Imminent

February 3, 2017

From January 2017, the State Agency on Public Services and Social Innovations (ASAN Centres) will begin to process electronic visitor visas through the new “ASAN Viza” system.

How does the ASAN Viza system work?

The e-visa will be issued for a period of stay of 30 days. Foreign nationals can apply for a new e-visa only from outside Azerbaijan. The expiry date of the applicant’s passport or other travel document should be at least three months later than the expiry date of the e-visa.

The applicant must submit certain information via the new Asan Viza web portal. An e-visa will be issued within three business days, so an e-visa application should be submitted at least three working days before the planned date of travel to Azerbaijan. The consular fee for the e-visa will be USD 20. Notification about issuance or cancellation of the e-visa will be sent to the applicant’s e-mail address. Once issued, the e-visa should be printed by the applicant and presented together with the passport (but not attached) at the point of entry.

Foreign nationals staying in Azerbaijan for more than ten days should register with the State Migration Service of the Republic of Azerbaijan online or in person at regional migration departments within ten days of arriving in the country.

Who qualifies?

E-visas will be issued only to nationals of countries listed here:

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See (Vatican), Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Vietnam.

Our advice

Qualifying nationals should take advantage of the new online visa application facility to avoid visiting a consulate when applying for a visitor visa for Azerbaijan.

For further advice and information on immigration to Azerbaijan, please email us at [email protected].