UNITED KINGDOM: Registered Traveller Service Expansion

The government has announced an expansion to its Registered Traveller Service, which facilitates a faster entry at the UK border.

From 5th October, business travellers and frequent visitors from 15 new countries are eligible to apply for membership of the service.

Which countries have been added?

The new countries covered by the service are Andorra, Bahamas, Botswana, Holy See (Vatican City), Macao, Maldives, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Seychelles, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Tonga and Trinidad & Tobago.

They join countries including the US, Australia, Canada and Japan.

The Registered Traveller Service had previously been open to adults only. However, last month, the service was expanded to include 0 to 17 year old dependants of members, enabling families to travel together more easily.


The Registered Traveller Service allows approved members, who have undergone advanced security checks, faster entry at the UK border through access to the ePassport gates (for ePassport holders) or the UK/EU passport lane.

To be eligible to apply, passengers must hold an eligible passport and have a visa or have visited the UK at least four times in the past two years.

Our Advice

Nationals of the countries mentioned above should contact their Newland Chase immigration specialist to find out if they can benefit from the Registered Traveller Service.

For advice and information on UK immigration in general, please email us at enquiries@newlandchase.com.


Contact Newland Chase